Our School

Our Traditional Custodians – The Kulin Nation Peoples

The traditional custodians of the land in the Koo Wee Rup area, belong to the Kulin Nation.

The Kulin Nation consists of the five language groups who are the traditional custodians and are those that lived in the Port Phillip and Western Port regions:

Boonwurrung (Boon-wur-rung)

Dja Dja Wurrung (Jar-Jar-Wur-rung)

Taungurung (Tung-ger-rung)

Wathaurung (Wath-er-rung)

Woiwurrung (Woy-wur-rung), commonly known as Wurundjeri.

These groups have strong cultural connections with this land. Aboriginal culture holds an inherent ethic of land stewardship incorporating a belief system that places Traditional Owners as both custodians of and belonging to the land.

The collective traditional territory of the Kulin Nation extends around Port Phillip and Western Port. It extends up into the Great Dividing Range and the Loddon and Goulburn River valleys.

In the language groups of the Boon Wurrung and Woi Wurrung (Wurundjeri) peoples of the Kulin Nation, Womindjeka / Wominjeka means ‘welcome’.

More specifically, Bubup Womindjeka means ‘Welcome Children’ in the language of the Boon Wurrung People, and we here at St John the Baptist Catholic Primary School certainly reinstate those words and sentiment.

ios app google play app